Sexual assault is a very serious offense to be charged with in the State of Texas. A person can be charged
with sexual assault of an adult or a minor under the age of 17. Sexual Assault is typically a 2 nd degree
felony. A sexual assault charge can become a 1 st degree felony depending on the facts alleged to have
been committed. Sexual assault of a child in Texas is an aggravated felony, the punishment range could
be at the standard 5 to 99 years, or may be increased to a minimum of 25 years in prison if proven
beyond a reasonable doubt that the child was under 6 years old.